Virginia Marriage Records, 1853-1935
Below are the counties and cities that either have or do not have actual marriage licenses for the years 1853-1935 on microfilms at the Library of Va. where I research.

If they do have them or some of them I list the years, if not I say no.

Now some of these places have them for other years that I do not get I am sticking to 1853-1935.

A question some people may have is what is the difference between a marriage bond, a marriage license/certificate or a marriage record.

1. MARRIAGE BOND- Marriage bonds existed primarily from the 1700's - the mid 1850's in Virginia. They include no personal information at all except the names of the couple. They also have the signatures of the groom and his security. I do not get marriage bonds.

2. MARRIAGE LICENSE/CERTIFICATE- Marriage licenses/certificates are individual license of a couple that do include personal data such as ages, parents, birthplaces, etc. The minister's return is sometimes on these as well. Check below to see what counties and cities have licenses and what years they have them for at LVA where I get them from for you.

3. MARRIAGE RECORD- Marriage records on registers in Virginia are th easiest to get. I can get them for all counties and cities in Virginia. They list many other couples who married the same year across two pages with all the same personal info as on a license/certifcate. Thething to remember with them is that there are other couples and their data listed so they are each on a line that runs across the two pages I mentioned and the information therefore looks small. But most of them are very readable.

Remember that there are marriage records on registers for all of these counties and cities.

Accomack County- 1853-1917

Albemarle County- 1853-1913

Allegheny County- no

Amelia County- no

Appomattox County- 1892-1901

Amherst County- no

Arlington County- no

Augusta County- no

Bath County- no

Bedford County- 1853-1899

Bland County- 1888-1900

Botetourt County- 1853-1924

Brunswick County- 1853-1912

Buchanan County- no

Buckingham County- no

Campbell County- no

Caroline County- no

Carroll County- no

Charles City County- no

Charlotte County- 1854-1912

Chesterfield County- 1855-1912

Clarke County- no

Craig County- no

Culpeper County- no

Cumberland County- 1908-1912

Dickenson County- 1884-1906

Dinwiddie County- no

Elizabeth City County- no

Essex County- no

Fairfax County- no

Fauquier County- no

Floyd County- 1853-1935

Fluvanna County- no

Franklin County- 1866-1912

Frederick County- 1858-1904

Giles County- no

Gloucester County- no

Goochland County- no

Grayson County- 1889-1899

Greene County- no

Greensville County- 1853-1901

Halifax County- no

Hanover County- no

Henrico County- no

Henry County- no

Highland County- no

Isle of Wight County- no

James City County- no

King and Queen County- 1867-1903

King George County- no

King William County- no

Lancaster County- 1854-1915

Lee County- no

Loudoun County- no

Louisa County- 1856-1912

Lunenburg County- no

Madison County- 1854-1886

Mathews County- 1903

Mecklenburg County- 1853-1908

Middlesex County- no

Montgomery County- no

Nansemond County- no

Nelson County- 1864-1889

New Kent County- no

Norfolk County- no-scattered Minister's returns

Northampton County- no 

Northumberland County- 1856-1898

Nottoway County- no

Orange County- 1854-1911

Page County- no

Patrick County- no

Pittsylvania County- 1861-1898

Powhatan County- 1853-1868 some 1853, 1854 Minister's returns

Prince Edward County- 1854-1900

Prince George County- no

Prince William County- no

Princess Anne County- no

Pulaski County- no

Rappahannock County- no

Richmond County- no

Roanoke County- 1853-1903

Rockbridge County- 1854-1912

Rockingham County- no

Russell County- no

Scott County- 1858-1900

Shenadoah County- 1860-1912

Smyth County- no

Southampton County- 1853-1900

Spotsylvania County- no

Stafford County- no

Surry County- no

Sussex County- 1853-1865

Tazewell County- no

Warren County- no

Warwick County-no

Washington County- no

Westmoreland County- 1866-1912

Wise County- no

Wythe County- no

York County- no


Alexandria City- no

Blacksburg- no

Buena Vista- no

Danville- 1853-1935(to 1970) but just indexes I believe, no licenses

Fredericksburg- no

Lynchburg- no

Newport News- no

Norfolk city- 1853-1909

Petersburg- 1853-1871

Portsmouth- no

city of Richmond- 1853-1857

Roanoke city- no

South Boston- no

Staunton - no

Williamsburg- no

Winchester- 1853-1911

This page was last updated on: February 26, 2016
If it says no next to the county or city then there are no license/certificates available at LVA for me to get. You would have to go to or write to the courthouses involved.